Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Hello faithful slingers... (Read 1219 times)
Panjandrum
Novicius

Slinging Rocks!

Montgomery, AL
Hello faithful slingers...
Jun 22nd, 2007 at 5:55pm

Just joined the list.  I'm Jim Merlini and live in Montgomery, Alabama.  I'm a newswriter for Metro Networks and occupy the dungeon in the Alabama State House.

I was an enthusiastic slinger in high school but abandoned that for knife throwing.  Now I'm not good at either.  Must get back into practice.

I bought all the ingredients for a sling staff but the staff lies collecting dust in a corner.  My work day is really running too long.

Hope to hear from some members.  I did send a few bucks to help defray operating costs, so my conscience is clear there.

If you enjoy historical fiction, try "The Ten Thousand."  It's a rewrite of Xenophon's "Anabasis" (the march up) and has some good bits about slingers in the service of Spartan troops in the Middle East.  Ataxerxes, and all that sort of thing.

Be of good cheer and don't come to the Southeast unless you love a drought.  We're in Emergency One just now.

Cheers,

Merlinius

-----&&So long, and thanks for all the fish.....

IP Logged

Captain Paul
Descens

der Schleudermeister

Bell Buckle,Tennessee
Re: Hello faithful slingers...
Reply #1 - Jun 22nd, 2007 at 8:29pm

Welcome!!!  I joined not long ago and have been slinging and making slings and staff slings for years.  There is a lot of good information on this forum and some good people--enjoy!!  Captain Paul

Never look down on someone--unless you are helping them up !

IP Logged

Curious Aardvark
Forum Moderation

Taller than the average
Dwarf

Midlands England
Reply #2 - Jun 23rd, 2007 at 5:30am

[quote]I did send a few bucks to help defray operating costs, so my conscience is clear there.
[/quote]