Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Where are the powerful shots? (Read 7429 times)
looter
Novicius

Slinging Rocks!

Where are the powerful shots?
May 3rd, 2007 at 1:11am

Okay I'm only a beginner right now so I understand that it won't be til quite some time of practicing that I'll start achieving some powerful shots.

I saw a video on the main page by Barak and I immediately thought that his technique was pretty cool and that with the whipping sound that sling made as the rock flew, it must have been a pretty powerful shot.

But I've come across some videos here and there where experienced slingers achieve these wussy shots. Now I'm just wondering, why is that? I see these videos where people only rotate once gently before they release and that worries me. Am I doing my slinging the wrong way when make several rotations? Where are these 250 mph shots like it says on the main page that are possible? I just saw a video of some guy launching a gentle shot at a wooden Goliath and the rock didn't even go through. Was that guy who came out on Digging for the Truth in the episode that was about King Tut right when he was shocked when he found out that King Tut had a sling and continued to call it a humble weapon used by shepherds to scare off animals (he immediately began to talk about how the bow was a real weapon, unlike the sling)?

IP Logged

Tint
Interfector Viris Spurii
Past Moderator

Hong Kong
Re: Where are the powerful shots?
Reply #1 - May 3rd, 2007 at 4:55am

There are many different styles to throw with the sling.  Some are more powerful than others.  Some trade off power with a faster draw.

Here is a video of me slinging tennis balls with different styles:

http://slinging.org/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1156823087/0#0

I dare not say that I am a powerful shot.  My best range is about 300m.

Yurek is one of the best slingers on the forum you might want to check out his videos too.

IP Logged

sv
Funditor