Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Throwing Technique Naming Conventions (Read 5112 times)
Gunsonwheels

Slinging Rocks!

Wyoming Shoshone River Valley
Throwing Technique Naming Conventions
Apr 22nd, 2007 at 5:17pm

I STRONGLY disagree with Dale that Aussie's style is figure eight... It uses the Greek starting stance but there is no "eight" in it that I can see or even imagine and I doubt any intelligent newby could either.

Maybe for clarity sake we should stop calling everything the figure eight or other PET names and start a NEW nomenclature which is a combination of a technique's essential elements.  I studied cv's garbage can whacking and Aussie's clip for quite a while last night... frame by frame... Both use the Greek start but Aussie's pouch release is into a more vertical drop so as to bring the pouch farther up into a more overhand stone release... he appears to be releasing the stone about 60 degrees or more up from a horizontal sidearm.  Cv releases the pouch into the windup more to the side which leads into a more side-arm-ish style with the stone release occurring about 40 degrees up from a horizontal... at least it is very evident from the clips his release is more sidearm than vertical overhand whereas Aussie's is more overhand than sidearm.  I think this is one of the great benefits of having a compendium of these as any of us can study them frame by frame and see that what is really going on is fully disclosed.

I'd like to see all Greek Starting Stance videos filed under that name.  Call the others Hanging Start.

After that, lets count revolutions or degrees.  Cv and Aussie and David taylor's overhand are all One.  Everything one rev or under call "ONE".  One to two call 1-2 and above that Helicopter (plane of rotation horizontal to 45 degrees) or Propeller (plane of rotation vertical to 45 degrees off vertical).