Pages: 1 2 3 ... 15
Send Topic Print
Compound Sling (Read 69281 times)
Matthias
Past Moderator

Gatineau/Ottawa QC, Canada
Compound Sling
Mar 24th, 2007 at 5:43pm

Ok, this is an idea that I've been kicking around for a couple of years, but have never managed a chance to really dedicate myself to figuring it out. I'm releasing it to everyone here at slinging.org with one request - anyone who tries this please post here describing your results.

Slinging is limited by both the strength of the thrower and the speed that they can move their arm. Take away air friction, and it becomes a strength-only problem, with a coordination limit - the reason you can't just helicopter your way up through the speed of sound (speed of sound if there was air, of course Roll Eyes) You can trade strength against speed - a sling lets you move your arm slower with more force while moving the projectile quickly. A bow works by a different principal, storing energy, but this is also true of a sling with a longer windup - rather than just have the length of your arm to apply the accerating force over, we have the opportunity to add energy over a longer period of time.

The drawing above shows a sling-variant that might allow the thrower to "bank" energy that becomes available at the moment of release. The sling is compound - basically a sling attached to the end of a second sling. A mass heavier than the glans is attached to the end of the primary, retained sling, while the secondary sling holds the projectile. The pouch starts out in the slingers hand, and at the appropriate moment in the throw, it is released to swing through a larger path centered on the booster mass. The release is made in a conventional manner, but at the end of a significantly longer sling. The acceleration of the pouch and glans transfers kinetic energy from the booster mass, whose speed is reduced to near zero at the instant of release.