Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Throwing techniques (Read 17845 times)
Gunsonwheels

Slinging Rocks!

Wyoming Shoshone River Valley
Throwing techniques
Mar 21st, 2007 at 7:05pm

I have been throwing with a sling since I was about eight years old. I am now sixty-three.  I still enjoy casting enough stones to bring back both the accuracy and power which I feel is inherent to slings and slinging... if a person knows a viable technique for throwing with the sling.  After over fifty years of throwing, study of articles on the sling, watching movies depicting throwing and the application of what I feel is some plain common sense, I came to the following:

Throwing techniques to “shoot” a sling have been lost and are, in all probability, largely unknown in our modern world.

Any technique which exposes the thrower to the enemy’s spears, arrows and stones during an extended (anything over a couple seconds) twirling of a sling from an erect position is not militarily sound and likely not what the ancients used.

Any technique which is not naturally complementary with an over-hand throwing motion is also not likely what those armies used.  There is a reason modern baseball pitchers both use the body motions they do to throw and do so accurately at velocities of 90-100 MPH.

The physics of extending the length of an arm by 24-30 inches which throws at say 90 MPH without a sling should yield projectile velocities in excess of 200 MPH.

Projectile mass and shape, if held consistent like arrow spine in archery, contributes to both the accuracy and range of slinging.      

What techniques are known in the .org which meet the above criteria???

George N

George N

IP Logged

Tint
Interfector Viris Spurii
Past Moderator

Hong Kong
Re: Throwing techniques
Reply #1 - Mar 21st, 2007 at 9:42pm

Gunsonwheels wrote on Mar 21st, 2007 at 7:05pm: