Send Topic Print
Help!!! (Read 2845 times)
Bob26
Novicius

Used to be Dylan Auty

London, England
Help!!!
Mar 10th, 2007 at 2:43pm

Hello. i am new to slinging and i don't know where to start. i tried to make a sling twice and both times failed miserably. i am wondering what type of sling to use, what material to make it out of etc. i also live in the depths of london, so am wondering where i can go use a sling.
thanx.

The early bird need not catch the worm when he can order pizza at midnight.

IP Logged

Dravonk
Funditor

Aachen, Germany
Re: Help!!!
Reply #1 - Mar 10th, 2007 at 2:52pm

Welcome!

I started with braiding a sling though we have a member here who loves sending his high-quality pouches all around the world. Wink

Hmm...slinging in a city is a bit hard. I'd say take some balls (not golf balls: from what I heard they are quite hard and heavy and even bounce back at you) and go to a park when there are not too many other people there. Expect to loose some of the balls. You can try to get old tennis balls that are not fit for playing tennis with anymore.

IP Logged

Dale
Interfector Viris Spurii

California, USA
Reply #2 - Mar 10th, 2007 at 4:34pm

Welcome, Dylan Auty!

I also advise against using golf balls or any other hard object, when you are beginning.  Tennis balls are much safer.  People have also made low-impact sling ammo out of paper and duct tape, or yarn, or other soft materials.

The first few slings I made were braided. 
Dan Bollinger
and
Victor Escobar
have written very good instructions on how to do it, starting with nothing but twine.

And as Dravonk mentioned,
AussieSlinger
has offered sling pouches to any who ask (you supply your own cords).  Just send him a private message, introducing yourself and giving your mailing address (do not post it here, the forum is not for private information).