Send Topic Print
Years of slinging (Read 2327 times)
Tint
Interfector Viris Spurii
Past Moderator

Hong Kong
Years of slinging
Feb 24th, 2007 at 11:23pm

I just realise that I have been slinging for more than 12 years now.  And the fascination is still going strong.  I wonder what is it that keeps me interested?  Is it the almost super-power-like ability to shoot rocks at leathal speed?  The forever out-of-reach dream of being able to accurately shoot with that power?  or is it the coolness of being good at a mysterious yet historically significant art? Huh

Probably a combination of all those and more.

Recently I showed my slinging to my Kung Fu sifu.  And he said "You have got real good Kung Fu right there."  Coming from him, it means alot.  Kung Fu to him is a serach for ones' soul.  A medium to enlightenment.  May be that's what slinging is to me.

Still love to sling, I have an unreasonable desire to get better at it.  I am a long way from mastering it, yet I am willing to keep trying.  It is self-taught in my case and so it is something I call my own.

and it is cool. Cool

I think it will remain so for the rest of my days.

IP Logged

dork
Funditor

I feel Smurfy when I'm
smurfing!!!! You too?

In Beautiful Wisconsin
Re: Years of slinging
Reply #1 - Feb 25th, 2007 at 12:22am

That is exactly how I feel. Slinging has a very spiritual feel to it. The way you described it is the way I have felt about it for years.

IP Logged

Aussie
Past Moderator

Joined Nov. 1, 2006  Luke
14:14

Melbourne, Australia
Reply #2 - Feb 25th, 2007 at 1:06am

Love it too!!