Send Topic Print
discovery/revelation: (Read 1126 times)
siguy
Interfector Viris Spurii

si vis pacem para bellum

connecticut
discovery/revelation:
May 10th, 2006 at 8:11pm

when i sling really hard with certain styles, my shoulder hurts. i realize that many of you have already experianced this, but this is my first time having sling-related shoulder pain.  i was trying out the sidearm style that taiki demonstrated in one of the antwerp videos, when i let it fly really hard off into the woods, and i felt a little bit of a tingle in my shoulder.  two or three more throws like this; just winging it with all of my might, and my shoulder really hurt!  i found myself rubbing my shoulder much like the granny from one of the stories on the site.  i would start off with a slow windup beside me, my left side(not the side holding the sling) facing the target(actually just the direction i wanted the stone to go in) and then i would pull it accross my body, now using my shoulder as the pivot point, and let it fly.  i was getting trmendous power with this, but then i couldn't do it after a couple of thows.  that made me sad, so i decided to try taking the stress off of my shoulder, and put it on my elbow instead.  after a couple of throws, i was able to do this, without much sacrifice to power.  this made me happy. 

altogether, i like the sidearm throw, and i think i will now use this as my long distance throwing style, as i am far more powerful with this than with the underarm style that i was previously using for distance.  even though i am far more powerful when i use my shoulder, i don't plan on doing it very often.

if you want peace prepare for war&&&&my site
IP Logged

Taiki
Interfector Viris Spurii

Don't tell my mom i'm
here will you...

belgium
Re: discovery/revelation:
Reply #1 - May 10th, 2006 at 8:33pm

glad you liked the power on it siguy Grin could you put up a small schematic of how you do it ? (i'm a bit confused now)