Send Topic Print
Hunting with a sling (Read 7214 times)
Rebel

I love Slinging.org!

Norway
Hunting with a sling
May 1st, 2006 at 7:55am

Hello slingers.
Have any of you ever hunted with a sling?
I almost hit a crow yesterday. It was siting in a tree
about 25 meters away. I missed it by only one inch.
If I had hit it, the crow it would be a very dead crow I think.
This was the first time I have aimed for a living thing and almost hit where I aimed (normaly I miss by a mile Roll Eyes). I was using the apache throwing style, and it looks that I have a greater chance of hiting anything using this style than any of the other types of throwing.
What is your prefered throwing style, and have you ever hunted with it?

Kill one, and you are a murder- Kill millions, and you are a conqueror- Kill them all, and you are God.

IP Logged

Dale
Interfector Viris Spurii

California, USA
Re: Hunting with a sling
Reply #1 - May 1st, 2006 at 3:29pm

According to Forsyth, the style he learned from that Mescalero Apache gentleman was intended for hunting.  Steven described his experience with an elderly lady who had herded sheep as a youth; her style was similar (a single swing with the whole arm, almost no wind-up), and she had killed many coyotes with her sling.

Hunting with a sling is discussed from time to time.  If you want to find other peoples' stories, just search in the forum for "hunting".  Be sure to change the settings for "Max Age since last post" and "Display how many results"-- the default values will only give you things posted in the last week.

I have not intentionally tried to hit any living thing, yet.  But if ground squirrels move into our garden, I am going to give it a try -- those rodents are very destructive.  On the other hand, if I miss the squirrels but damage the vegetables, my wife is going to be hunting ME!  Grin