i need some tips (Read 2174 times)
sling-slangman
Novicius

i came i slung...i think
i hit the neighbors car..

Sanfor, Florida, US
i need some tips
Apr 5th, 2006 at 3:36pm

Hey im new to this whole slinging thing (i just started a week ago)...and i was wondering if you all had any advice for me...i have already made two slings...my newest one consists of one 3 strand brait 4 or 5 feet long, and a 4 strand braid of about the same length.  My pouch is a 6 inch oblong octagon.  Is this too long... i am only able to fling stones around 70 or 80 yards with it.  what are your suggestions?

p.s. Slinging is awsome!   Grin

Chuck Norris slings....
igotascrewloose3  
IP Logged

lobohunter
Interfector Viris Spurii

where be a rock and a
string there be a sling

Cottage Grove or
Re: i need some tips
Reply #1 - Apr 5th, 2006 at 4:01pm

is that 48 to 60 inch from the center pouch. Depending Apon your slnging style that maybe a little long But there are slingers on here that definily use longer slings with good results

Albert Scott C bigbadwolf41 77940+hwy+99+south,+Spc+22  
IP Logged

sling-slangman
Novicius

i came i slung...i think

Sanfor, Florida, US
Reply #2 - Apr 5th, 2006 at 4:28pm

yeah thats 48 to 60 from the pouch.  also...do you think i should use two triple braid strands or two 4 braid.  i find that with the configuration I have now, the larger braid gets in the way...btw my "release" strand is wider (being that its 4 strips of rawhide) than my "anchor" strand (which consists of three strips of rawhide)

Chuck Norris slings....
igotascrewloose3  
IP Logged

Tito

Australia
Reply #3 - Apr 5th, 2006 at 7:08pm

when i braid i just combine all my strands into three groups and make it simple. when i braid with four main strands, i like to use a core which prevents the braid from stretching too much.

BTW nice picture Grin

That's one small sling for David. One giant headache for Goliath.&&The safest place to stand when I sling, is right in front of me!

IP Logged