Send Topic Print
neolithic sling (Read 7032 times)
slingbadger
Interfector Viris Spurii

Don't Badger a Badger

Akron NY
neolithic sling
Mar 15th, 2006 at 3:08pm

Oh, to have been a fly on the wall, when the first caveman ( we'll call him Tharg) made the first sling and tried it.
   Well, since we can't do that, we'll just have to ask ourselves; what was it that inspired Tharg to make a sling? What was it that he saw or did that made him sit down and try out the first sling?
   Any ideas???

The greatest of all the accomplishments of 20th cent. science has been the discovery of human ignorance  The main difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has it's limits.-Einstein   I'm getting psychic as I get older. Or is that psychotic?

IP Logged

CanDo
Interfector Viris Spurii
Past Moderator

New England, USA
Re: neolithic sling
Reply #1 - Mar 15th, 2006 at 3:16pm

i'm no expert, but I've heard that the sling was inspired by rocks tied to strings (like a one weight bolas). Since cordage is a pretty valuable thing, and rocks fly better without strings attatched, some one decided to invent the sling.
(How many posts until someone says "how do you know it wasn't a woman who invented the sling?"Tongue:Smiley)

IP Logged

Taikis_Girl
Ex Member

Reply #2 - Mar 15th, 2006 at 3:20pm

yes, who do you know it wasn't a woman who invented the sling?

IP Logged

MammotHunter
Interfector Viris Spurii

Give me a rock, a sling,
and give me some room

virginia, for now
Reply #3 - Mar 15th, 2006 at 4:39pm

name one weapon ever invented by a woman. Women have more important things to work on in their lives than figure out ways to hurt and kill each other. Or so I like to think.

Foolish is he who frets at night,&&And lies awake to worry'&&A weary man when morning comes,&&He finds all as bad as before&&-Excerpted from "The Havemal"
palaeoEvolution  
IP Logged

Taiki
Interfector Viris Spurii

Don't tell my mom i'm
here will you...

belgium
Reply #4 - Mar 15th, 2006 at 5:10pm