Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Another rookie, we seem to come in swarms (Read 2002 times)
Unsapien

"Sling your words like
cannon balls."Vari, M.Twain

Davis, Ca
Another rookie, we seem to come in swarms
Feb 6th, 2006 at 11:28pm

Hello,

First I want to say, I am impressed with the consistent activity of this group. I feel that there is a lot to be learned here. I have been reading you forum for a number of months now and have found it entertaining to read and very informative.

A little about myself:
I have been learning instinctive Archery for two years now, and have a very strong interest in learning more ranged arts. I was originally trained in the use of the sword, mainly Italian Rapier (Capo Ferro), and some German Long Sword.  I daddled in knife throwing for a number of years, but it isn’t nearly as romantic as slinging.

I always had a passive interest in the sling. I would think about it while on the range, and talk to my friends about the ancient art often, but never actually did anything about it. I get pretty excited about my projects and have to focus sometimes, so I could not devote much time to actually learning to sling, until now.

I am planning a water balloon war for this coming summer, my original thought was constructing small traction trebuchet’s for the job, but it seems like the logistics of this may become difficult, and most importantly costly. Then I discovered the staff sling. I have built myself a staff-sling capable of lobbing grape fruit sized water-balloons approx, 135 ft (based on rough foot pacing calculations). I have no idea if this is a considerable distance or if I am falling short.  I am open to any sort of advice anyone here is willing to give. I am excited about learning how to sling, and hope that I can fit in around here.

AaronMGutierrez  
IP Logged

fi3l2
Descens

Nothing is Impossible
to a Willing Mind!

State College, PA 16802