Send Topic Print
what knot do i use? (Read 2622 times)
Douglas_The_Black
Interfector Viris Spurii

Hakkaa päälle!

Salineville Ohio
what knot do i use?
May 28th, 2005 at 9:29am

do you guys remember the ballista i was showing you? well i was exparamenting with release mecs, and the thing has so much power that every thing i try to use for a release gets wedged into the wood and needs the bow string to be taken off of it for me to even try to get it out.

so while exparamenting i tied a pice of paracord onto the string that fires the bolt and pulled it back and tied that to a peg, when i knocked the peg away from the string it did fire the bolt, but with a sever loss of power, due to the para cord dragging behind it.

to stop this i just cut the cord, right behind the firing string, but this is expensive on the para cord.

wow reading over what i typed this is all very hard to understand sorry im not very good at explaning things with out my hands.  Smiley  all i need is a knot that will tie two cord's together, will hold under tension, and can be untied  by just pulling on one cord. IT will be a release knot, then once i get a litte more free time on my hands ill make a big lever to release the fireing string.

i live in a maze of typo's&&&& popularity is for dolls a hero cannot be popular-Ralph Waldo Emerson&&&&DTB-master of the corny vest, and crappy carpet!
randelflagg22002  
IP Logged

Willeke
Interfector Viris Spurii
Past Moderator

Give me some string and
I know what to do.

Netherlands
Re: what knot do i use?
Reply #1 - May 28th, 2005 at 1:32pm

Basicly most slipped knots will do, just pick one that unties completely when the slipped loop is pulled.
To give you a knot to start with I did a quick search on Google and this was the first page I found. http://www.primitiveways.com/knots.html
They even have several knots you can use.

Willeke