Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Yew Throwing Stick (Read 7532 times)
english
Ex Member

Yew Throwing Stick
Oct 4th, 2004 at 2:03pm

I am fairly pleased with this throwing stick.  It is probably big enough to take down a deer, based on aboriginal measurements for taking down kangaroos.  It is quite hefty.  Made of yew, as the title suggests.  It took an outrageously long time to carve because I was unused to the wood, which is snaky, difficult and prone to all sorts of weird things...  but it looks great.  To me anyway.

IP Logged

Johnny
Funditor

Goodlettsville,TN
Re: Yew Throwing Stick
Reply #1 - Oct 4th, 2004 at 2:16pm

Can you resize it? It is a little two small.
Thanks

I also love sushi..!
TNslinger  
IP Logged

english
Ex Member

Reply #2 - Oct 4th, 2004 at 2:18pm

I can give it a go.  I am a novice at this.  Matthias told me my other pictures are too big, and now I have gone for a serious case of overkill.  Sorry.

Just checked.  It seems it is not possible to resize the picture to make it bigger.  I'll try something else as well.

IP Logged

english
Ex Member

Reply #3 - Oct 4th, 2004 at 2:21pm

Oh.  Well that looks a little too big.  But that's better than nothing.  I'm gonna leave it alone now.

IP Logged

english
Ex Member

Reply #4 - Oct 4th, 2004 at 2:26pm

Here should be an up-close shot of the grain of the yew, at the handle.  It might be a bit blurred, rendering it a little useless.  But I may as well include it anyway.

IP Logged

Johnny
Funditor

Goodlettsville,TN
Reply #5 - Oct 4th, 2004 at 2:31pm

Nice looking stick of Yew! Where did you get the Yew? I thought Yew was a little hard to get in the UK. Maybe not. I've got 2 large staves of Yew from British Columbia drying out in my garage. I think I can get 2 bows out of each stave.
Johnny

I also love sushi..!
TNslinger  
IP Logged

english
Ex Member

Reply #6 - Oct 4th, 2004 at 2:35pm