How to sling acuratly (Read 2257 times)
fyrbllxtrm
Novicius

slinging= the best invention
of the aincents

New Haven Indiana
How to sling acuratly
Jul 2nd, 2004 at 1:54pm

hey im new to slinging and i can get the distance but cant get a very accurate shot so i would like to know the best way to sling acuratley and the best shape of stone to use thanks in advance

fireballextrm07  
IP Logged

mgreenfield
Funditor

Milwaukee Wisconsin
Re: How to sling acuratly
Reply #1 - Jul 2nd, 2004 at 2:13pm

Well, for sure accuracy is THE problem with slinging.  Even the Balearic experts set up BIG! targets with big bullseyes for competitions.   In my experience, these seem to help:

1/ Fairly stiff material for the sling pocket.  Something that will "snap" open upon release, thus not hanging up the ammo

2/ Consistent ammo.   Same weight.  Same smooth shape.  I like slightly football-shaped ammo of about 65-grams weight.  Most slingsters seem to prefer heavier though.  I roll my own ammo out of moist clay, then let it air dry.

3/ Spins in a very nearly vertical plane.  This solves some of the inaccuracy in direction, leaving you to deal just with range.  It's also safer for bystanders.   Delivery can be either overhand or underhand as long as the motion is in a vertical plane.

I'm sure others can offer additional "secrets".   Welcome to this gang.    mgreenfield

IP Logged

fyrbllxtrm
Novicius

of the aincents

New Haven Indiana
Reply #2 - Jul 2nd, 2004 at 2:17pm

thanks i will have to try that i have already made a sling out of some stiff leather and i can probably get some good clay to use at one the art stores around my town thanks again

fireballextrm07  
IP Logged

David_T
Funditor
Past Moderator

Hooked on Sling'n

Greenville,SC
Reply #3 - Jul 2nd, 2004 at 4:41pm

I have only been slining for 11 months now but here are some things I have learned: