Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Sounds, Silence, and Iron Slings (Read 1834 times)
BarneyRubble
Tiro

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Sounds, Silence, and Iron Slings
May 26th, 2004 at 10:53pm

Has anyone ever heard a thoing sound coming from their Sling? Although it sounds cool I think it would alert the game down range of where I am shooting at. I am new to slinging and prefer an overhand style with just one partial revolution before release. My stance is holding the retainer and release cords just above and between my brow and ear with the pouch held in front with my other hand taut or tightly (seen on coins or stone relief carvings). The swing revolves downward past my right knee (right handed) towards my back and over my shoulder and then in front of me with the release being at about 10 or 11 O'clock.  Typical ranges are about 60 or 70 yards and sometimes 100 yards with reasonable accuracy.  The projectile sometimes makes vwiz-vwiz-vwiz sound on its path downrange.  Would it be possible to silence the sling maybe with wool tassels at each end of the pocket connections or would this effect performance too much?  Also has anyone made a weighted sling with iron sand sewn inbetween a two ply pocket (ala sap) for more power or is this just hair brained?

IP Logged

Chris
Slinging.org Administrator

Slinging Rocks!

USA
Re: Sounds, Silence, and Iron Slings
Reply #1 - May 26th, 2004 at 11:49pm

Welcome BarneyRubble,

That sound from the pouch is due to it's odd aerodynamics.  During that snap of your wrist, the sling is attaining some pretty decent velocity, and the air vibrates as it tries to move out the way of the pouch, making a whooshing sound.  Some of my pouch designs produce it, and others don't.   You'll just have to experiment a bit to eliminate it.  I'd try smaller pouches and thinner cords first.