Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
mortar mix ammo (Read 5364 times)
learningviolinist
Novicius

Sling POO its fun!

mortar mix ammo
Apr 18th, 2004 at 5:04pm

Hi Im new to both this fourm and slinging. And I just thought I would like to add my to-sense to ammo making. I just recently made ammo with mortar mix I don't know the ratio I mixed with but it was kinda runny any ways I put it in an easter egg Grin and I threw it at my target when it was dry and it exploded! Is there any way of makeing such ammo with out it exploding? Im now trying to put almost microscopic threads into the mix but I don't think it will help much....my brother said to put a peice of wire throught the mix to stop it from breaking would it help? also would making a dry mix help?

IP Logged

mgreenfield
Funditor

Milwaukee Wisconsin
Re: mortar mix ammo
Reply #1 - Apr 18th, 2004 at 5:32pm

...this is a tuff one, & I'm not sure anybody has a real good solution.   Do a search of the site using the word 'glande' or 'glandes', and you'll probably see what I mean.     Welcome to this site & the sport of slinging.   This is a good gang.    mgreenfield

IP Logged

Matthias
Past Moderator

Gatineau/Ottawa QC, Canada
Reply #2 - Apr 18th, 2004 at 8:12pm

The "Concrete Bowling Ball"  (http://www.concrete.org/students/stu_competitions_bowl.htm) guys often used fibre reinforcing - either metal or glass/ceramic. The trick for glandes seems to mostly be that the size is so small... Have any of the self hardening clay users tried normal clay? A 25lb block of stoneware should only cost 8-9$, and you should be able to pit-fire them in a bonfire, after which you'd think they'd be darn near indestructible.

Matthias

IP Logged

WalkingBird
Descens

Slinger of stones

Reply #3 - Apr 18th, 2004 at 11:55pm

learningviolinist

Welcome to the forum. Hope you like it here. Lots of good info here that should help you with your question.