Home Help Search Login

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Sling Pouch Braiding (Read 5781 times)
english
Ex Member

Sling Pouch Braiding
Mar 27th, 2004 at 3:58pm

I know that there are loads of posts on sling braiding, and many websites to look at specifically for braiding, and I can braid.  But when I braid slings, I get up to braiding the pouch and get stuck.  How does one braid a pouch into a sling, rather than adding one of leather, etc?

IP Logged

Chris
Slinging.org Administrator

Slinging Rocks!

USA
Re: Sling Pouch Braiding
Reply #1 - Mar 28th, 2004 at 12:52am

I'm no braid expert at all... In fact I've never done one.  From what I've seen, the easiest way is to braid with extra string (like twice what you need) for the main cords, and at the pouch, split the strings into two groups and braid those for a few inches, then reunite them for the other cord back up.  You form a simple lovelock pouch this way.  Dan has an article up on it:

http://www.slinging.org/20.html

Chris

IP Logged

english
Ex Member

Reply #2 - Mar 28th, 2004 at 4:23am

Yeah, I was thinking about it a bit.  I think I need to make some simple tools to be able to do this, like an incredibly simple loom.  My main problem is how to add in the extra string.  I guess you just braid them in, and then separate them... I am sure that is harder than it sounds.  Anyways, thanks.  I was thinking of just carrying on braiding a full pouch, rather than a lovelock style, but I have changed my mind now.

IP Logged

Hobb

Denver, CO
Reply #3 - Mar 29th, 2004 at 1:05pm