Welcome, Guest. Please Login
SLINGING.ORG

Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Reply To David (Sling Theory) (Read 20833 times)
Whipartist
Past Moderator

Stone Slinger/Stick Thrower

Sand Creek, CA
Reply To David (Sling Theory)
Oct 10th, 2003 at 8:47pm

I started writing this in reply to David in another topic but it got so long and I was having so much fun I decided to put it here to spark discussion.  I've been slinging for probably about 8 years and I guess I have a lot of thoughts on the subject, though I admit they are just thoughts and theories; I'm not near as accurate as I want to be, just a fanatic about achieving it. 

Ben

Wanna hear my theory?  This won't be very organized but I'm itching to write it out just for my own reference Smiley

It seems longer slings don't work as well for accuracy.  Long range bombardment yes!  I've grown very comfortable with a 33" long sling folded.  That's 66" straight out.  I've found my power and range are almost as good, maybe equal to the longer slings, but that I can't use quite as heavy a stone with the same ease.  Long slings can fire much heavier stones with ease because the constant angular change of the stone in it's orbit is at a lot less sharp an angle and less intrusive to the centrifugal force's pull.  Jim Burdine uses slings between 25" and 18" for accuracy.  So do some South American tribes and a racoon hunter out in the woods that Jim's met.  I think scientifically, shorter slings are less powerful because they provide less of a mechanical advantage.  That's what slings are about- mechanical advantage.  The human arm has great strength but not great speed of travel.  Strength can be turned into speed through the sling.