Pages: 1 2 3 4
Send Topic Print
Atlatl (Read 10735 times)
Cave_Man
Novicius

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Atlatl
Aug 10th, 2003 at 5:39pm

Does anyone practice a wonderful instrument called an atlatl?  If so i would like to know some tricks of the trade.

IP Logged

thrower1970
Tiro

A hurling we will go!!!

Houston, Texas
Re: Atlatl
Reply #1 - Aug 11th, 2003 at 3:33pm

I don't have an atlatl yet, but I have some knowledge of them.  What I know I got from BPS Engineering at WWW.ATLATL.COM. ; The have good info, links, and sell what looks to be a well designed and constructed atlatl.  Hope that helps.

Ron

IP Logged

archeorob
Descens

Know when to duck!

Wisconsin
Reply #2 - Aug 11th, 2003 at 3:51pm

Yep, BPS does make a very nice atlatl.  You also might want to try Thunderbird atlatls (online) and www.walkingonoldground.com (where kris offers a great book on making atlatls and darts).

Looking through Primitive Skills Group's archives usually gives you some good tips too.  What can I say, the internet has a ton of cool stuff on atlatls.  But most of all, just get out and practice.  A well thrown dart is a thing of beauty.

Archeorob rob+Fullmer  
IP Logged

BillB
Tiro

If it's outdoors....

USA
Reply #3 - Aug 13th, 2003 at 1:25pm

You might also check out your local museums, especially if they have any native exhibits. For example, both the Boise museum (Boise, ID) and the Birds of Prey museum have at least one atlatl on display. The Boise museum didn't surprise me, but the Birds of Prey museum did. They have two there because the natives in the area used to hunt birds with them.

Which also goes to show that the use of the atlatl was really much more widespread than you'd think. So, check around your museums, ask the curators if they have any you can look at.

Bill B.

Bill B.

IP Logged

ehkahk
Novicius

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Reply #4 - Nov 18th, 2003 at 3:19pm

Ive been throwing darts for 2 years, and I also make my own for others.